“Strong Island” defeat Rainmen, 92-90

– Close game, the sound got a few lucky bounces in the fourth quarter and found some holes down low.

– When Halifax had the ball with 10.5 seconds left the Sound only had two team fouls, so after the inbound they let three seconds tick off the clock and fouled.  Then they did it again.  Leaving 3 seconds on the clock for Halifax to chuck one up.  This was good coaching… which is why they ultimately won.

– Halifax had a big lead to open the game but let the Sound back into the game.  Halifax are good, but they lose concentration and let the other team come back/get way ahead.  Lewis refuses to call time outs during these sitautions.

– Halifax had a trap this game.  It worked okay, but they were slow to bring the second guy sometimes.

– Kadiri Richard is a beast.  He had a handful of blocks and altered even more shots.

– Wiggington-Downey had some time in the third quarter and was absolute trash.  He ruined three offensive posessions, picked up a bad foul and got yanked.  It was during this period that Strong Island gained some momentum at this point.  Booooo.

– Attendance looked to be about 700ish… not good.  But, it is Wednesday night.  I don’t think that the losing is helping attendance.

12 thoughts on ““Strong Island” defeat Rainmen, 92-90

  1. quite personally, i think coach lewis is not fit to be a coach, im pretty sure the last couple of games he left his starting line up on the whole time wearing them right out, hi… u can sub in this game, and the game against the sound? playing derrico? i understand he’s local but the boy is NOT aba level… and he need not get any play time… he can’t play with these boys, he was in for what two minutes? and his time of play caused the rainmen to lose… who does that? the coach keeps saying that the rainmen lose their head before the game is over? ummm not so much he patted one of the players on his shoulder and said “good game” during THIRD quarter? what about the other 12 minutes in the final quarter? yes…. the coach sucks and needs to be fired. 🙂 sorry mr. lewis

  2. And what was the real reason Kevin Mabone left? And why can’t I find any stats on him if he played in the NBA? Something feels weird about that. Does anyone want to shed some light on that? I hate to go all conspiracy theory.

  3. I can find virtually nothing about Kevin Mabone anywhere online. The only articles of any sort that have anything to do with him have to do with the Rainmen. The initial Daily News article about his hiring is here: http://www.hfxnews.ca/index.cfm?sid=33561&sc=92

    It mentions that he played on the Pistons but I can’t find his name on any of the rosters from 89-95 (http://pistonsonline.com/default.asp?p=91&phaction=2&seasonId=38)

    He basically coached a rec league team of troubled youth before coming to Halifax, as far as I can tell. My guess is that Levingston hired a friend from Michigan.

    I can’t find much about Rick Lewis, but it’s such a common name that it’s virtually impossible to sort through online until I have time/brainpower.

  4. Well, even Lewis’s credentials as stated by the Rainmen didn’t impress me. It wouldn’t surprise if he wasn’t anywhere on the net.

    The Mabone situation seems odd though. There is nothing on his NCAA days that I could find either. However, my search wasn’t extensive.

  5. I’m not surprised that you can’t find anything on his NCAA days.
    Last year talking with the members of the all star teams to ask about their college years, the schools listed as Providence, Southern Illinois, and (I think it was Pitt) became the junior college down the road from Providence, Southern Illinois, and the other school.
    I wish this would work I really do. I loathe the one sport town attitude of it’s Hockey or bust. I wish they could make a run at it, but winning is the best marketing and right now the budget is empty.

  6. OK, so I Googled “Kevin MaBone” and got 89 hits. Then I Googled my own name and got 205 hits (well over 100 were me, apparently there are a few other guys with my name). Either this former Detroit Piston (no record of him on the Pistons official site) has been living under a rock or I am getting over-exposed for a normal citizen.

  7. He is a FAKE, he tells everbody he played for the Detroit Pistons and won championships with them. Got traded to the L.A. Clippers but cut due to a shoulder injury. But, you are so right, Google him and you find NOTHING. Only summer and rec leagues! He has played on the so called “my mother” is on her death bed for along time now, since 2005!

  8. OMG GUYS I AM AN ALUMNI STUDENT AT THE MIAMI JOB CORPS CENTER IN MIAMI FLORIDA. I HAVE HEARD THIS STORY SO MANY TIMES THAT I CAN TELL YOU AND MAKE YOU BELIEVE IT. KEVIN MABONE IS A LIAR AND HE EVEN HAVE PICTURES IN HIS OFFICE TO MAKE YOU BELIEVE THIS LIE IS A TRUTH. HE ALSO HAS A JERSEY IN HIS OFFICE AS WELL… THIS DUDE CALL HIS SELF AN ALL TIME PRO BASKETBALL PLAYER BACK IN THE DAY BUT ALL HE DID WAS COACH A LIL LEAGUE… I CAN DO THAT… WOW.. KEVIN MABONE YOU ARE A LIAR AND I EVEN CALLED YOU DAD… ITS NOT GOOD TO TALK ABOUT AND DOWNGRADE ONE WHEN YOU FIT IN THE SAME SHOE….. WOW LIARS I TELL YOU!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

