Section23 Is One Year Old

366 days ago the Rainmen played their first ever game and blew out the short handed Boston Blizzard.  365 days ago I started this blog.  My first post had zero comments and probably a dozen readers at most, since then I’ve cracked the 30,000 visitor mark.  (oddly enough I actually had visitor 30 000 sometime this morning)  That post demonstrates poor and innaccurate analysis and the first, and only, Dennis Hoffman joke to appear on this blog.

I started the blog because I went out looking for info on teams and players on the internet and found very little.  What I did find was kind of hard to dig up, so I figured I’d pass it along to other people who may be interested so they didn’t have to go digging.  I also wanted to create a place where people could talk about the team – not just talk trash like on OSC, but also to discuss what happens on the court.  Pretty soon I started getting e-mails from people who had info they wanted spread around.  It’s been fun and I am looking forward to another season of rumours, bitter comments, giving advice I am unqualified to give and trying to make information on minor league hoops just a tiny bit easier to find.

Here are some random facts about the first 12 months:

  • 210 posts
  • 839 comments
  • 30, 065 hits
  • Most read post.
  • Top five most popular searches that people use to get to the blog: Rainmen blog (or some variation of), Eric Crookshank, Kadiri Richard, Lantrice Green, PBL Draft.

Here’s to another year of writing about minor league basketball on the internet instead of doing school work.

6 thoughts on “Section23 Is One Year Old

  1. Happy Birthday, Chris. I enjoy reading your blog, and it makes my job covering this team more fun knowing there’s a bunch of people out there who care about them probably way too much.

    P.S. You may have seen this already, but the Rainmen re-signed Crookshank today, along with another 6-11 guy named Jason McGriff. Apparently they plan on having at least three power forwards on the floor at all times this season.

  2. Congradulations on a year of writing this. I only found it half through the season and it is a lot of fun to read other peoples opinions and tlak about the team.

    The Rainmen should have a link to here on there website.

  3. Chris I am glad you came up with this idea during the first game sitting there with me and I am glad we went right to the box office and bought season ticket right away. I am just sad I wont be there this year the whole time but I will read this everyday.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

