Chris Cochrane has a Few More Details on Crookshank Suspension

Cochrane talked to Levingston and has a few, but not many, new details on the Crookshank unpleasantness.  Including this tidbit on how the suspension was arrived at:

“The initial decision was he’s suspended for the year and we’re sending him home,” said Rainmen owner Andre Levingston. “In the middle of the night, probably like 3:30 or 4 o’clock in the morning, I literally woke up, sat up in bed and (said): ‘I’m not sending his ass home. This is going to be a teachable moment for him.’ Because I knew if I sent him home he wouldn’t learn from it. So I’m not going to let him run from it.”

Levingston also says that it was not criminal or having to do with the public:

Confusion about this matter is caused by the Rainmen’s reluctance to release details on what type of bad behaviour got Crookshank suspended. That’s within their rights. Yet not doing so escalates speculation and delays closure on the matter. What Levingston will say is that the offence was an internal team matter and had nothing to do with the public or the law. He said that if it had been “something of that nature,” Crookshank wouldn’t still be associated with the team.

Which means that a physical altercation with Lewis remains the obvious explanation  (I have no evidence of that, but it continues to be the only real way to explain this whole thing) but unless the Rainmen come out and make it public, and there is no indication that they will, we may never know.

12 thoughts on “Chris Cochrane has a Few More Details on Crookshank Suspension

  1. How come nobody’s printing what really happened? Crookdshank took a swing at Silverhorn; players separated them; when it got back to Lewis (who wasn’t there when it happened), Lewis said he was gone for the season.

  2. I find it hard to believe in a way since they were supposed to be friends, but on the other hand it is believable and makes a lot of sense. Silverhorn seems like the kind of guy who would really get annoyed with players talking like that to the media, he seems to really like Lewis, and he’s a captain so he’d feel like he has the right to say something. I also think you’re more likely to take a swing at a friend over something like that is a strange sort of way.

    Do you have a source on that? It seems as likely as an altercation with Lewis.

  3. Member of the media, all I can say. And a player told me “no comment” when I put it to him.

    And it bugs me too.

    If this story is true, why isn’t this person’s media outlet reporting it?

    If false, why is this media reporter voluntarily dangling it out there in casual conversation?

    More broadly, it seems to me that the media in this city go out of their way to “protect” franchises. Another example: I heard from three different Moosehead season ticket holders who do not know each other that the coaching staff stabbed Patenaude in the back in a clandestime meeting with Bobby Smith at the Prospects game. I have no hard evidence that either Cam Russell or Bobby Smith were even AT the prospects game, but I’m hearing the same story from all different folks.

    I get the sense that the media in this city doesn’t even investigate this stuff. Makes me feel like some sort of conspiracy kook who wears tinfoil on his head. 🙂

    The point is, if the Rainmen aren’t going to be open about these things, why don’t we have people who can dig up the story?

  4. I agree Bluenose. I don’t think it’s just sports, though – there is a lack of investigative journalism in general in Halifax, but I don’t blame the reporters. Wuest is the only sports reporter at the Metro and he has virtually no space to actually do extended features. Lucas has more space, but he’s responsible for all of the university, college and high school basketball in addition to the Rainmen plus he occasionally gets other university and high school sports assignments. Add to that the terrible management/labour relationship at the Herald (i.e. they’ve been working to rule and pulling by-lines over there for months and now most of them are at risk for getting fired due to budget cuts) and you have a situation where reporters don’t have the time or space to really do the sort of work needed to actually verify and confirm sources on stories like this.

    Media in this city (and lots of other markets) has just been constricted to the point where reporters can’t do the kind of work they wish they could do.

    The reason I had sources near the team last year was frustration some people had with the media not digging up stories. (For the record, none of my sources were on the Rainmen’s payroll/working in the office)

  5. Does Silverhorn’s current injury (injuries) have anything to do with Crookshank?

    What are Silverhorn’s injuries listed at currently?

  6. Brandon,

    I was told that
    –Crookshank was complaining about being benched. Silverhorn told him to shut up, team comes first.
    –Punches were thrown but nobody was hurt.
    –Silverhorn’s injury has nothing to do with this.

    Chris 902: Did not realize situation at Herald was THAT desperate. Wow.

  7. I HAVE BEEN READING THIS BLOG OFF AND ON SINCE THE WHOLD CROOKSHANK SUSPENSION TOOK PLACE….I KNOW BOTH GUYS AND THE INFO ON CROOKSHANK AND SILVERHORN THROWING BLOWS IS COMPLETELY FALSE. THEY HAVE BEEN AND REMAIN GOOD FRIENDS. THE PROBLEM IS THE COACH…AND BEFORE YOU MAKE ASSUMPTIONS THERE WAS NOT A PHYSICAL ALTERCATION WITH THE COACH OR ANY OTHER MEMBER OF THE TEAM…THE COACH JUST HAS ISSUES.

  8. I am Eric Crookshank’s grandmother and I am so happy that my grandson has been reinstated to be an active member of the Rainmen Basketball Team. I am 73 years old and the broadcast of the games on the computer enabled me to see my grandson play. I am unable to come to Canada in person, but this is the next beat thing. I just want to say, Thank You, Mr. Levingston for making my life a little happier again.
    Good Luck to you and the entire team.
    A note of thanks to the fans for loving and supporting my grandson in NS. (aka) Nanny (Eric’s Granny)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

